Annual Phi Theta Kappa Celebration Goes Virtual

For the first time, the annual MCCA Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society celebration went virtual in response to the COVID-19 pandemic that has shifted classes online. Even though the Wednesday, April 22 in-person gathering was canceled, the moment was no less momentous with remarks Mun Y. Choi, President, University of Missouri System and Interim Chancellor, University of Missouri, the event sponsor, and Dr. Raymond Cummiskey, President of Jefferson College, served as the keynote.

Dr. Cummiskey is one of 10 retiring college presidents and chancellors recently recognized with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. These awards are given to retiring college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students over the course of their career. Recipients are nominated by the students on their campus.

First Team

Magdalene Asare, Cottey College
New Century Transfer

Kila Butts, Ozarks Technical Community College
New Century Workforce

Joseph Mosley, Metropolitan Community College
Coca-Cola Academic Team Silver

Crystal Murphy, East Central College
Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze

Kristen McDonald, St. Louis Community College
Coca-Cola Academic Team Bronze

Jaclyn Winberry, Metropolitan Community College

Aziza A Aslanova, Metropolitan Community College

Julie Hall, Ozarks Technical Community College

Khanh Pham, St. Louis Community College

Clayton House, St. Louis Community College

Second Team

Rachel Licklider, East Central College

Lauren Zweifel, East Central College

Haleigh Goodman, Jefferson College

Nathalia Vanessa Carvalho Moraes, Metropolitan Community College

Teala Mahan, Missouri State University

Tochukwu Ukaegbu, Ozarks Technical Community College

Derrick Wong, Ozarks Technical Community College

Lindsey Jones, St. Charles Community College

Charles Dent, St. Louis Community College

Daniel Hulan, Three Rivers Community College

Third Team

Ashley Beckstrom Dokter, Cottey College

Patrick Bevins, Crowder College

Kristi May, Crowder College

Shannon Herode, East Central College

Lina Elkishawi, Metropolitan Community College

Jason Shockey, Metropolitan Community College

Baylee Eckles, Moberly Area Community College

Meredith Curtis, Moberly Area Community College

Chanda Gerard, Moberly Area Community College

Qudrat Onadipe, Moberly Area Community College

Lilly Simons, North Central Missouri College

Kelsey Stone, North Central Missouri College

Marissa Kohlman, St. Charles Community College

Caroline Appel, St. Louis Community College

Nasra Barre, St. Louis Community College

Julia Green, St. Louis Community College

Zane Graham, St. Louis Community College

Claire Dildy, State Fair Community College

Taylor Werner, State Fair Community College

Christopher Perry, State Technical College of Missouri 

Share this post:

Comments on "Annual Phi Theta Kappa Celebration Goes Virtual"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment